September 2013 Revisions

The following section of the bylaws was revised in accordance with the process outlined in Section IX.

VI. Committees

1. Executive Committee

- A. The Executive Committee consists of one elected faculty member from each state-funded budgetary unit of the College, except that any school shall have two (2) elected members. One academic professional staff member from both Krannert Art Museum and Krannert Center for the Performing Arts shall be elected from those units. Heads or directors of units are not eligible to serve.
- B. The election process shall be conducted by secret written ballot by the individual units. Faculty who hold appointments in more than one unit must select in which unit they will vote. Members will be elected for staggered two-year terms and may serve not more than two consecutive terms.
- C. The Dean serves as chair of the Executive Committee but shall not vote, except in case of a tie.
- D. The Executive Committee shall:
 - 1. Advise the Dean on policy, budget planning, and the College strategic plan.
 - 2. Advise and consult with the Dean on matters brought to it by the Dean or independently initiated by the Committee.
 - 3. Advise and consult with the University Library on matters brought to it by the library or independently initiated by the Committee.
 - **4.** Communicate regularly to the faculty/staff of each unit on the business of the College Executive Committee as deemed appropriate.
 - **5.** Make a yearly recommendation to the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs on the reappointment of the Dean and oversee the evaluation of the performance of the Dean every five years in accordance with the university policy and procedure on such evaluation.
 - **6.** Prepare nominations for standing committee membership (Section VI.4) for submission to the members of the College. Nominations will also be possible from the floor of the College meeting.
- E. The Executive Committee shall elect three members to serve on the College Academic Disciplinary Committee. The FAA Associate Dean for Undergraduate Academic Affairs shall serve ex officio.
- F. The Executive Committee shall elect seven members to serve on the College Elections and Credentials Committee, one from each academic unit.
- **G.** Members of the Executive Committee, with exceptions noted in Section VIII.1, also serve as the College Grievance Committee as established in Section VIII.

- **H.** Meetings of the Executive Committee shall be called by the Dean or by three members of the Executive Committee at a time determined in consultation with members.
- I. In the event that a committee member cannot attend a meeting of the Executive Committee, the committee member should designate a representative. The designee shall have voice and vote in the meeting.

2. Officers of the Executive Committee

- A. The Dean shall chair the Executive Committee, except when the Committee meets to advise the Chancellor and President on the appointment or reappointment of the Dean or to review the Dean's performance.
- B. A Vice Chair, who shall chair the Committee in the Dean's absence, shall be elected by the Executive Committee from among its members.

3. Promotion and Tenure Committee

The Promotion and Tenure Committee consists of one full professor elected from and by each of the tenure-granting units of the College by secret written ballot and three tenured faculty appointed by the Dean, not more than one of whom may be from any one unit of the College. Members will be elected or appointed for staggered three-year terms and may serve not more than two consecutive terms. The chair, director, or head of a unit is not eligible to serve. If a unit includes no eligible full professor, an associate professor may be elected. A member who resigns will be replaced for the remainder of that term by the same procedure by which that member was selected. The committee shall elect its chair from among its members. After consultation with the College Executive Committee and the College Promotion and Tenure Committee, the Dean will issue procedural and substantive guidance to units with respect to promotion and tenure. The Promotion and Tenure Committee shall review all promotion and tenure submissions from the units of the College and recommend changes in the papers to the submitting units. After opportunity for resubmission, the Committee shall take a secret written ballot on the merit of each candidate and forward the vote along with any written comments it deems appropriate to the Dean. The Committee's vote shall be reported on each candidate's papers when submitted to the campus Promotion and Tenure Committee. Units within the College shall maintain their promotion and tenure requirements and procedures in a manner that is consistent with College policies and the Provost's policies. The responsibility for preparation of all submissions and papers proposing advancement in academic rank or awarding of tenure shall be in the unit in which the eligible candidate's largest percentage of appointment is held. Such unit shall be designated the responsible unit by the Dean of FAA for each nontenured faculty member of the College unless otherwise designated through agreement by all concerned unit heads and the Dean.

4. Administrative Council

The Administrative Council comprises the chairs, directors, or heads of all academic and service units reporting directly to the dean of the College: Krannert Art Museum, Krannert Center for the Performing Arts; Schools of Art and Design, Architecture, and Music; the Departments of Dance, Landscape Architecture, Theatre, and Urban and Regional Planning. The Dean of the College of Fine and Applied Arts chairs the

Administrative Council, which will have monthly scheduled meetings, with additional meetings as needed called by the Dean or at the request of members of the Administrative Council. The council works closely with the Dean on all matters of College policy, including budget and strategic planning.

5. Elected Standing Committees of the College

The members of the following committees are elected by and from the College. Vacancies occurring during the year, after election of standing committees, will be filled by appointment by the College.

- A. Executive Committee
- **B.** Courses and Curricula Committee
- C. Elections and Credentials Committee
- **D. Library Committee**

5. Appointed Standing Committees

The following committees are is appointed by the Dean:

- A. Courses and Curricula
- A. Equal Employment Opportunity Committee
- **B.** Academic Disciplinary Committee
- C. Lorado Taft Lectureship on Art Committee
- D. Bates Scholarship Committee
- E. Museum Acquisitions Committee
- **6.** The Dean shall appoint such ad hoc or special committees as are recommended by the Executive Committee, the faculty, and other members of the College or as deemed necessary by the Dean.
- 7. The chair of any College committee may request to make presentation(s) to the Executive Committee.